Skip to Main Content

2021 Virtual Conference

Looking Back to a Path Forward

PLEASE NOTE:  THIS PAGE IS STILL UNDER CONSTRUCTION.

 

Looking Back to a Path Forward

Peace Corps Iran Association Virtual Conference October 2, 2021

There is no registration fee but donations are gratefully appreciated.

 

Plenary Session 1

9:00 - 9:30 am PDT (12:00 – 12:30 pm EDT) 

Welcome, PCIA President Jeanette Gottlieb. Greetings from NPCA President and CEO Glenn Blumhorst.

 

 

Plenary Session 2

9:30 -10:45 am PDT (12:30 – 1:45 pm EDT)

Looking Back: A conversation with John Ghazvinian, author of America and Iran, a History: 1720 to the Present. Moderated by Marcia Franklin.

 

10:45 -11:00 am PDT (1:45 – 2:00 pm EDT)

Break

 

Plenary Session 3

11:00 am -12:30pm PDT (2:00 – 3:30 pm EDT)

Iranian/American Relations Today and Tomorrow, a panel discussion moderated by John Limbert (co-author of Believers: Love and Death in Tehran) with Sina Toossi of National Iranian American Council (NIAC) and Bahman Baktiari,  executive director of the Baskerville Institute.

 

12:30 - 1:00 pm PDT (3:30 – 4:00 pm EDT)

Break 

 

Break-out Group Discussions - When you register, please!  Sign up for only one of the following. (Attendance limited.)

1:00 - 2:30 pm PDT (4:00 – 5:30 pm EDT)

     1.      The Future of PCIA:  Led by Carolyn Yale and Jackie Spurlock. Hosted by Bill Brandon.

     2.      Shuster and Baskerville: Two Americans who left a mark on Iran. Presenters Tom Ricks and Joan Gaughan, author of The Shuster Mission to Iran. Hosted by Marie Mitchell and Jennifer Seaver.  More 

     3.        NPCA and the Peace Corps at 60:  Presenter Glenn Blumhorst. Hosted by William Spielberger.

     4.      You asked for it: Open conversation in Farsi (Persian) only.  Hosted by Tagi Sagafi-nejad and Jahan Salehi.

 

Plenary Session 4

3:00 - 4:30 pm PDT (6:00 – 7:30  pm EDT)

When We Grew Together. A documentary about Peace Corps in Iran by film makers Hossein Mahallati and Abbas Motlagh. Preview of the trailer followed by discussion on the impact of Peace Corps in Iran. Moderated by Jasamin Rostam-Kolayi.

4:30 - 5:00 pm PDT (7:30 – 8:00 pm EDT)

Closing

 

To register click here.